mckarlie

I have happiness in my heart and a thorn in my soul

Rebuilding

on August 30, 2013

Piece by piece and bit by bit

I will dig myself out of this pit

When hope has gone and all is bleak

When I feel hollow, fragile and weak

I try to find the smallest spark

To guide me through the darkest dark

When every moment hurts to be

When you close your eyes you see depravity

You’re taken back again and again

To when you originally felt the pain

Search for the spark and hold onto light

It isn’t now but it will be alright

Sometimes all you can manage to do

Is tread water just to make it through

But once you’re through and find your fight

Hold on and make the wrong things right

I know I still have a long road ahead

But I am focused in my stead

I don’t want to be defined by the past

The scars of which will always last

But the wounds themselves with someday heal

I will learn how to live and how to deal

 

7 responses to “Rebuilding

  1. Aimer Shama says:

    I’m new to poetry but I like this.
    There’s this depravity and stead parts they’re off beat a bit.
    But all in all I enjoyed it. It is beautiful. Excellent. Expressive.

    • mckarlie says:

      I don’t agree that said parts are “off beat” but then I don’t write to a beat I write what’s in my heart. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and if you feel qualified to critique others poetry then it’s good to express your opinion. I appreciate the positive parts of your feedback.

  2. crissybwell says:

    Good Morning lovely! I just wanted to let you know I nominated you for the “Inner Peace Award”, if you follow this link: http://crissyb315.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/inner-peace-award/ then you can see the information to accept this award, should you choose. Thank you and Congrats!

Leave a Reply

