mckarlie

I have happiness in my heart and a thorn in my soul

Can paying it forward help depression?

on July 20, 2013

I think it can, yes. I have suffered from depression for 20 years, since i was a child. When I was younger I would accept my fate and just go with it, I wouldn’t fight it, why bother right? I’m depressed, the last thing I felt like doing was challenging myself in any way. I would just sink further and further into my own sad little hole of woe.

I would issue a challenge to those who are depressed and feel stuck in a rut, do something nice for someone else, take the focus off yourself for just a brief amount of time. The fact of it is, at any given moment there are millions of us in pain, there are so so many people wanting to end it cause life just hurts so much, each moment feeling endless in it’s grief. Now i’m not saying to live by comparison, as each person’s pain and each person’s story is just as valid as the next persons whether one seems more severe than the other, it’s all valid. However, by going out of our way to do something nice for someone else we are putting positivity out into the world, whether it be something very small like opening a door for someone or buying a friend a coffee or offering someone lunch if you know they’re low on funds, whatever you can do, do it. It’s so easy to get completely wrapped up in ourselves and our pain when we are low, but by stepping out of it briefly and making someone else’s day a little better, we are breaking the cycle. You wont always receive the positive reaction it deserves but don’t be put off by this, more often than not acts of kindness are a surprise and are well received.

So once a day, try one little thing for someone else, anything you can do without cutting into your own welfare or funds too much. I’m a person who gets a buzz from giving and sharing so I benefit from this more than some perhaps, but I still think it can help. Those who are bipolar like I am will know it’s easy to be generous and share when you’re ‘up’, but I’ve been trying my best to do it when I’m down as well, it really does help break the cycle.

All the best everyone, peace šŸ™‚

13 responses to “Can paying it forward help depression?

  1. Definitely a great idea! I find whenever I did something special for my niece it helped me during my depressed times and it gave me special memories to think of when I was really down. You have to find things to live for and reasons to push past the bad times. Good post.

    • mckarlie says:

      Thank you! That’s exactly right, when you’re depressed it all gets so much about ourselves that stepping out of that and creating some positivity can make all the difference. Thanks for your input šŸ™‚

  2. crissybwell says:

    Just wanted to stop by and say that I nominated for you an award šŸ™‚ You can find the information here: http://crissyb315.wordpress.com/2013/07/20/interesting-blogger-award/ I hope that you except. Congrats šŸ™‚

    You know you have a friend here and I am glad that I can nominate you. Speaking of pay it forward šŸ˜‰

  3. polardenise says:

    This is a wonderful idea! I will try this.

  4. I think if you share your experience even to just 1 person it can help.

  5. Yes! Absolutely! Thank you for saying it! Paying it forward is sometimes the only way I feel like I can make it through the day. Besides, I meet all kinds of amazing people that way. XOXO

    • mckarlie says:

      SO SO true! It’s amazing how caught up we can get in our own woes, stepping out of the shadows and focusing on someone else can make all the difference. Thanks for sharing šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

