mckarlie

I have happiness in my heart and a thorn in my soul

Open heart

on July 11, 2013

It’s hard to heal or find happiness when you feel you have no home

It’s hard to find your place in life when you feel you’re all alone

Sometimes we shut each other out for fear of being hurt

We crave love and attention but build walls to keep avert

We lock ourselves away from love believing we don’t deserve any

We think that we are all alone just another one of many

But we are each special and unique in our own way

We all are worth something and should each have our own say

If we let a little love in and make a crack in all the walls

Then soon we’ll feel we’re worthy and those walls will start to fall

I know the last thing someone wants is to feel like a charity case

And when love is offered to easily we turn and run apace

We don’t trust something that seems too good because of all the pain

We feel we are not worthy ’cause on ourselves we place the blame

So next time someone offers you an open arm or ear

Trust that they truly care and that it’s genuine and dear

The fact is we all need help sometimes there is no shame in this

And if someone offers love to you, it would be a terribly thing to miss

 

16 responses to “Open heart

  1. One of the hardest but more humble things to do is to accept charity, but I can definitely understand the desire to push it away. Too I can understand how love too easily given seems like it’s done out of pity and not out of a genuine feeling. Maybe give love a chance? Take care.

  2. shoe1000 says:

    it would be a terrible thing to miss.
    thanks

  3. crissybwell says:

    This is beautiful, as I have come to see all of your work is. You are so very talented. You capture the true essence of things here. I am one that tends to push others away just when I need them most, but having someone to love and care for you is one of the greatest gifts in the world. The best thing to do is to have an open heart and love and share with those who are willing. There is not enough love in the world and we need to do all that we can to embrace and hold on to what love we find or are offered when we can. Beautiful work *hugs*

    • mckarlie says:

      Thank you dear friend, I do so appreciate your support. I think the world makes us cynical so when love is offered freely with nothing asked in return, we close ourselves off to it. I just want to put as much goodness out there as I can and relate to people with similar stories and hearts, just like you beautiful girl! *hugs*

      • crissybwell says:

        You are very welcome and you are so sweet! I could not agree more to what you are saying, yes when the world shows us that love comes at a price or hurts us, then someone wants to offer it without such expectations, it’s hard to believe that it’s real. But real love like that is out there and worth embracing, no matter how hard to accept, true love is worth the risk every time. I am very much the same, it’s nice to connect and find others who share similar stories, emotions and drives, such as yourself 😉 I think that is why it’s so easy to talk and bond with you. *hugs*

      • mckarlie says:

        I’m so thankful for your friendship! The first person I became friends with through wordpress screwed me over, I got an email this morning and it was really sad. I’ll email you about it because I don’t want to put him on blast but it made me feel so deflated, like every time i try and help someone it blows up in my face, and I nearly got cynical about it all but then remembered i’m accountable to you, and myself! Gotta keep positive no matter what happens, no matter how many times i get used or screwed over *hugs*

      • crissybwell says:

        Aww my friend it breaks my heart to read that. You are so kind and caring and I hate that people mistreat that. I am definitely here and will always support you. Yes we are accountable I remember what we agreed on. You make sure I keep hope in my post and I do the same for you. We all need that extra reminder sometimes and I could think of no one better to do that than you, from all that I have gotten to know about you. 🙂

      • mckarlie says:

        Aww you’re a ray of sunshine! I’m truly thankful for you, always positive with something kind to say, we are kindred! I’ll email you shortly, I may vent slightly about the fool and his actions lol

      • crissybwell says:

        Aww I feel the exact same about you 🙂 I look forward to your email and we all need to vent sometimes. It’s better to release these feelings than to keep them bottled inside and I’m more than happy to listen. Talk soon 🙂

  4. anacruiz10 says:

    This is so sweet, and so true!

Leave a Reply

