mckarlie

I have happiness in my heart and a thorn in my soul

Broken lover

on July 10, 2013

If I had of known that would be the last time I’d ever see those eyes

I would have made an effort, I would have said goodbye

You kissed me on the lips, and said “I’ll see you soon”

I scoffed and said “we’ll see”, and with this sealed our doom

It felt like we were always fleeting moments here and there

We had good times in beds and bars but didn’t belong anywhere

This world had no place for the love of you and I

We kept telling ourselves we could make it work but knowing it was a lie

Your way of dealing with pain was to run and hide away

But by doing this you missed out on all the things I had to say

We never stopped for long enough to be comfortable with each other

You told me that you wanted to be more than just my lover

But when it came for actions, to back up all your words

I could not find you anywhere, sight unseen and words unheard

And so we danced our dance for as long as we could bear

And when I truly needed you, you weren’t there or anywhere

So I made the right decision, I chose to move away

You left me many messages with promise of another day

But while you remained frozen, stuck in the same place

I had found another love, a love of truth and grace

You tried and tried to bring me down

You tried and tried to pull me round

But finally I made the call and like a cancer cut you out

‘Cause all you brought was drama and that’s not what I’m about

22 responses to “Broken lover

  1. crissybwell says:

    This is beautiful!! I can understand how hard it is to get away from someone who may be bad for us, in whatever way, but someone we are just kind of comfortable with. I am glad that you have found someone who loves you and gives you what you need and you have been able to run from relationships that are bad. Thank you for sharing. Lovely. *hugs*

    • mckarlie says:

      Thank you darlin!! There haven’t been many men I had a problem walking away from but this was one, it kept creeping back in for quite a while. Thank goodness I don’t have to deal with that now lol I’d be a terrible single person *hugs*

      • crissybwell says:

        You are welcome! I can completely understand what you are saying. I had that “one” I had a hard time walking away from and yup kept creeping back in. I know exactly what you mean about being single. Glad you are in a good place now 🙂

      • mckarlie says:

        You deserve the very best of men my dear, I hope he sweeps you up! Love is such a complex emotion, it encapsulates obsession and hate and adoration and all manner of things all in one big package of confusing lol I don’t think I’d have the patience to ‘date’ ever again

      • crissybwell says:

        Aww you are far too kind. Though I think you deserve the same and I hope that is what you have. 🙂 I can completely understand what you are saying about dating. It’s definitely not easy.

      • mckarlie says:

        I do! It takes work and it’s hard sometimes but we are usually pretty good and easy, we barely ever fight and the girls are our joint priority. I just realized I have no idea of your age lol you’ll have to tell me next email 🙂

      • crissybwell says:

        I am glad that you do 🙂 I am sure that kids help in a certain way, hopefully being a mother is in my future. Oh hehe yes I will have to tell you 🙂

      • mckarlie says:

        Oh I do hope it is, you have such a huge kind heart you’re exactly the kind of person who should be a mother! I just have to do some shopping then I’m going to email you *hugs*

      • crissybwell says:

        Aww you are so very sweet! Thank you so much, you have no ideas how much your words mean to me. I look forward to hearing from you *hugs*

  2. Chagall says:

    Amen on the drama. —–Chagall

  3. davidconfidential says:

    It’s amazing how many broken hearted people turn to poetry. Either way this piece is particularly powerful. Feelings that I can share with. It’s very sad but beautiful

    “You told me that you wanted to be more than just my lover

    But when it came for actions, to back up all your words

    I could not find you anywhere, sight unseen and words unheard”

    So TRUE

    • mckarlie says:

      Thank you kindly.

      My poetry almost writes itself, you’re right, when there’s a lot of pain beneath the surface it does often flow out in the form of writing/poetry. It’s a great release, I find it amazingly cathartic

      • davidconfidential says:

        Me too. Pretty much most of my poetry is based on the level of “heat” I’m feeling or emotions. It’s the best muse out there !

      • mckarlie says:

        Indeed it is. I will have to have a read through your work 🙂

      • davidconfidential says:

        Would be honoured 🙂

      • mckarlie says:

        Very interesting, you’re a very honest writer and confront your own sexuality quite a lot. I quite like a lot of your wording, melodic in it’s way. It’s amazing how much we work out about ourselves by writing about everything. Keep at it 🙂

      • davidconfidential says:

        Thank you. I hope that you will follow and like/comment etc. you can be sure I will 🙂 again thank you for your words

      • mckarlie says:

        I am following you, sometimes WordPress doesn’t tell you though, it’s funny I often miss people following me. I Look forward to the interaction 🙂

      • davidconfidential says:

        Me too X

  4. Farrah says:

    Love your writing!!

Leave a Reply

