mckarlie

I have happiness in my heart and a thorn in my soul

To make a place that’s home

on June 27, 2013

It makes me sad to see others hurting and alone

I wish I could make you believe it’s ok, you don’t have to do it on your own

But we all build walls around us, we think it keeps us safe

But walls also keep things in and others out, it’s such a waste

We miss many opportunities to connect with one another

You don’t have to be born of blood to be a sister or a brother

If we share our stories unburden our pain

Each others trust and friendship we gain

But walls are all around us, keep us tightly locked away

We whittle away the years, avoiding what we dare not say

So maybe it’s something to consider, something of which to think

Next time you’re feeling all alone and desperate, on the brink

Pull down a few bricks and male a hole for others to peek through

Then we can really help each other, so let the world see you

I know it takes a little trust and sometimes trust is sparse

But we have more in common than you think, all you have to do is ask

There’s no point feeling isolated, feeling all alone

When we can help each other, to make a place that’s home


14 responses to “To make a place that’s home

  1. shoe1000 says:

    Thank you for such a wonderful piece of work!

  2. alabeti says:

    Beautiful sentiments, expressed with a singular compassion that is very refreshing.

  3. ztepf says:

    Thank you for this – you are very visual and empathetic. The world needs to hear more from Empaths!

    • mckarlie says:

      Thanks for your feedback, it’s lovely. I’m just trying to break down walls and create a community online of people who can be open with each other about our struggles 🙂

  4. dermagirl says:

    What a beautiful poem! Those words and the idea behind those words are really inspirational and they have a way of reaching through the computer and speaking to me. I think you have amazing talent 🙂 Keep it up!

    • mckarlie says:

      And what a beautiful thing to say, thank you so much. It means a lot to me, I just want us all to find a bit of peace through sharing our pain and stories together 🙂

  5. Very beautiful and true, well done! 🙂

  6. kevindeisher says:

    Thanks for that post sis. It really is encouraging, just as you always are.

Leave a comment