mckarlie

I have happiness in my heart and a thorn in my soul

My tower built on bones

on June 17, 2013

I feel the sun kiss my cold bumpy skin

I pause for a moment to take it all in

All the sights and sounds around

There’s so much beauty to be found

There’s also pain and misery

If it’s what you seek then it’s all you’ll see

For years I held onto my sadness

The truly heinous, and much worse

Sharing secrets makes me weak

Is what I told myself to sleep

But sleep I was barely able to find

There’s little peace for the broken mind

But now I’m older I have found

Secrets do little, but keep one bound

Bound to a past of pain and guilt

On a foundation of bones I built

My tower of denial and pain

For years I held on, barely sane

Now I’ve knocked that tower down

In my own secrets I shall not drown

I had to cut away the guilt, my tower on truth is now rebuilt

And I can be free, from all that has crippled and caged me

4 responses to “My tower built on bones

  1. lots of wisdom (: nice
    Jim

  2. […] My tower built on bones (mckarlie.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

