mckarlie

I have happiness in my heart and a thorn in my soul

Small Man

on June 14, 2013

Small man by your window, watching the world pass you by

You once held hopes and dreams, but now you don’t even try

You sit upon your perch, looking down your nose

You think you’ve found a point to make, your temperament morose

You fight my words you have your say and tell me what is what

You try to rob me of my opinion but lay down I will not

I stand up firm but with respect, I tell you that you’re misinformed

You hit back with your aimless point, how does a man get so forlorned

Because you sit and judge, those who do not shine

But an opinion should be respected, whether yours or whether mine

Sad small man with your hopes and dreams, crumbling apart

I hope that one day you restore a beat to that crumpled blackened heart

4 responses to “Small Man

  1. kevindeisher says:

    Very cool. I love this and your challenge to the small man. I have read some of your other posts and I hope you are building this kind of strength in your life daily.

    • mckarlie says:

      I am, the more I write the more I take back the power, if that makes sense. If there’s one thing that annoys me it’s small minds and people who think they’re better than others, everyone has a right to be heard.

      • kevindeisher says:

        I agree with you. Every voice has the right to be heard and people who have a powerful message like you do must be heard. I encourage you to keep writing every day if you can to build the habit. Once you do it becomes much easier. I look forward to more from you.

        Peace

      • mckarlie says:

        That’s so very kind of you, I truly appreciate your encouragement. I’m finding so much healing through writing, I used to write poetry and primarily songs, and i used to paint, i kind of got caught up in being a mum and forgot how therapeutic an artistic outlet is. thanks for being so kind, i’ll keep writing as it comes to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

