mckarlie

I have happiness in my heart and a thorn in my soul

Forever gone

on June 12, 2013

I was far away when it happened, she made sure I wasn’t alone

And when she spoke those words to me, I screamed and dropped the phone

The kindest man I’d ever known, the biggest heart by far

Had grown so big it killed him, the news left me ajar

I felt so helpless overseas, from where my love had been

I wish I was able to say goodbye, one last moment to be seen

Heaped over I cried like never before, such pain had been unknown

She was still sitting there, clinging to the phone

If God above exists, it was selfish to take this man

How could he have decided, that death was this angel’s plan

You kept your illness quiet, so it came as quite a shock

That it was cancer as well as your heart, that heart that was my rock

It was 13 year ago you left, and not one day’s gone by

That I have forgotten your beautiful ways

Why so young, did you have to die?

Leave a Reply

