mckarlie

I have happiness in my heart and a thorn in my soul

You were gone

on June 9, 2013

I wish that you could see, that the blame is not on me

I wish that you could see, all the harm you caused to me

You were the one that was meant to be there

But when I called, you weren’t anywhere

You were the one to love me, when all others were gone

But you left me alone and broken

What could I have done so wrong?

You wanted me to be like you, but I was something else

So you moved on to another, and left me on a shelf

Too difficult to deal with, who cares for such a thing

I was just a child, I didn’t think to bring

Armor to my own home, protection from your care

‘Cause you were meant to keep me safe, but you weren’t anywhere

All those times he hurt me, I cried out for your help

But you didn’t come running and I couldn’t help myself

He was strong and angry, I was small and frail

The fact that you don’t love me stings as my greatest fail

And now I can’t forgive you but I can do better than you did

The life that grew inside me is the reason that I live

Your mistakes will not be my own

Your ways will not carry on within my home

2 responses to “You were gone

  1. skipmars says:

    Thanks for dropping by my blog. Believe it or not, there is someone I’d like to introduce to you, but not now and not yet. She is the butterfly, and her wings are still damp and have not yet been aired out. Once that happens, and she flies, I’ll make the introduction.

    Cherish your child. You are not your mother.

    And, keep writing.

Leave a Reply

